Northern Ireland Assembly Election: Register to Vote!

The Northern Ireland Assembly election will take place on Thursday 2 March 2017.

The Northern Ireland Assembly has powers to make laws for Northern Ireland on a range of areas including health, education, housing, justice, and the environment. At this election, 90 Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) will be elected. Five MLAs represent each of the 18 constituencies in Northern Ireland.

To vote in the election, you must be registered by Tuesday 14 February if you aren’t already registered to vote. Once you’re registered, you need to make sure they have the correct form of photo ID to take to the polling station. Without photo ID, you won’t be able to vote on Thursday 2 March 2017.

In the Northern Ireland Assembly election, you will receive one ballot paper. To vote, you can rank the candidates for their constituency by marking numbers (1, 2, 3, etc) alongside
the candidate(s) they want to vote for. You can rank as many or as few candidates as they like. (Source)

Registering to vote.

To vote in any election or referendum you must be registered. Each person is responsible for registering themselves. To register to vote, visit, download a registration form and send the completed form to the Electoral Office for Northern Ireland. When registering to vote, you will be asked to provide your:

  • Name
  • Date of birth
  • Address
  • National Insurance number
  • Nationality
  • Signature

Evidence of the above details will be required (if you are British or Irish citizen, proof of nationality is not required). Full details of accepted documents are included on registration forms.

We strongly encourage everyone to register as soon as possible, but the deadline to be registered in time to vote in the Northern Ireland Assembly election is Tuesday 14 February 2017. (Source)

Who can vote?

You can vote in the Northern Ireland Assembly election if you are:

  • registered to vote
  • resident in Northern Ireland
  • aged 18 or over on 2 March 2017
  • a British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of another European Union country

British or Irish citizens living overseas cannot vote in the Northern Ireland Assembly election.

Find out more:

The information in this blog is extracted from a new set of resources, created by the Electoral Commission, to promote voter registration ahead of the Northern Ireland Assembly election.

Electoral Commission Resources Register to vote



Rachael Farrington

Hello! I founded Voting Counts back in 2014, when I was a sixth form student. I'm now studying Politics and History at University and run Voting Counts in my spare time.

Related Posts

Leave a comment


About Voting Counts
Have a question? Get in touch!

Follow us

Share this page